OKLAHOMA VERDICTS, THE CARL NELSON SHOW, & FORT NEGRO’S FIXICO

by refixico

The decision in the Oklahoma Police Officer Betty Shelby Manslaughter case was recently announced. As many in the Black Community had expected it was this, that the jury finds White police woman Betty Shelby, “Not Guilty” of the death of an unarmed,  Black motorist named Terence Crutcher.

Yesterday, May 19th, 2017, I was listening to the WOLDC 1450 AM radio show, hosted by the Award winning host Mr. Carl Nelson. Yes, it was “Open Phones” Friday and several of the callers were voicing their outrage over the verdict. I had intended to call in about America’s never-ending Political Saga, starring President Donald Trump and Company. However, my family has an Oklahoma legal battle in our History. Below is a transcript of my call into the show:

“Greetings Brother Carl, My grandfather Pompey Fixico was unarmed when he was murdered in front of witnesses in 1925, in Wewoka,Oklahoma 85 miles from Tulsa. This was 3 years after the Tulsa Race Riots. He was a Veteran of WW 1 where he served in France in the “Buffalo” Div.. Prior to being drafted he worked in Tulsa at the Brady Hotel which was owned by Tate Brady a high ranking Ku Klux Klan official. My grandfather on the Dawes Rolls was listed as a Full-Blooded Mikasuki Seminole. In truth his biological father was Seminole Maroon Leader Caesar Bruner, who had  at the end of the Civil War helped translate the 1865 Truce that became the 1866 Treaty that Dr. Claud Anderson talks about. When my grandfather was shot there were two doctors on the scene and neither one would treat him. Even though there were 4 witnesses who testified the judge ruled that there was “no evidence” that a crime had been committed.

My grandmother and the children ,including my father  were to be exterminated, so they fled from Oklahoma”.

Carl Nelson after the Traffic Update, said: “Fixico you seem to know a lot about your family’s information, how do you know all this”.

My answer: ” I didn’t know any of this until I was 52 years old, after finding out I began my Activism. I don’t work for money, I work for the PROGRESS of the information.  One other thing is the story of what happened to the Black Indians of Oklahoma needs to be told. Many of them had property on land that was over a lake of Oil called the Wilcox -Sand Oil Deposit”

Mr. Carl Nelson “Your story is very interesting and you need to keep telling it”

My answer: “Thank you and Ms. Cathy Hughes , for allowing us to tell our story”.  Call ends.

Honor and Respect, Phil “Pompey” Bruner Fixico, Seminole Maroon Descendant and Private-Sector–Partner for the National Underground Railroad/Network to Freedom 1998 Act.

https://refixico.wordpress.com/2013/07/27/a-tale-of-two-seminole-counties/

