DIANE MILLER, NUGRR/MGR., “HARRIET TUBMAN VISITOR’S CENTER”, CARL NELSON AND FORT NEGRO’S FIXICO

by refixico

HOORAY AND HALLELUJAH,

Good morning, today is May 10th, 2017, yesterday on the WOLDC Radio-One Carl Nelson Show, I enjoyed the absolutely wonderful experience of listening to Mr. Nelson (arguably “America’s #1 Black Talk Show Host”) interview Ms. Diane Miller the National Underground Railroad/Network to Freedom’s Manager and the New Harriet Tubman Visitor Center ‘s Superintendent. It was a classic example of how a professional Journalist/host interacts with an extremely knowledgeably guest. The callers were lighting up the phone banks at Cathy Hughes Radio Station and the accomplished National Manager Diane Miller was answering their sincere questions, proficiently and adding interesting details.

I was deliriously happy for and proud of both of these awe-inspiring personalities whom I deeply respect and admire. The topic was about the upcoming National Underground Railroad /Network to Freedom’s upcoming  exciting Annual Conference entitled: “On the Edge of Freedom”, to be held in Cambridge, Maryland from May 18th, to May 21st. Check the link below for details. I was happy for Mr. Carl Nelson because of the generous manner in which he has pursued his career for years as an award winning Talk Show Host and I felt the same about NUGRR Program Manager Ms. Diane Miller , I have a professional history with Ms. Miller .

In 2012, I was one of 11 “VIP”  Descendants who were chosen and featured, in that year’s NUGRR Annual Conference that was dedicated to the Black Seminole and Gullah Geechee of the Western Hemisphere, held in St. Augustine, Florida. I had been recommened by Dr. Kevin Mulroy, Author of :” FREEDOM ON THE BORDER” and “THE SEMINOLE FREEDMEN”. What an incredible  life-changing experience. As a result of my taking part in that memorable event, I became a Private-Sector-Partner for the National Underground Railroad/Network to Freedom 1998 Act and have been active in my capacity as a Partner since that Time. I also, called into Carl’s show during the interview to make a comment. Below is a transcript of my brief call:

“Greetings, Brother Carl and Diane Miller. Thank you, so much for doing this interview. I’m a Private-Sector-Partner for the National Underground Railroad/Network to Freedom 1998 Act. There is actually a Public Law that says these stories must be told. Diane is my “FEARLESS LEADER” and she  does a tremendous job ! So, I hope that the community comes out to support the program” Call ends.

https://www.nps.gov/subjects/ugrr/conference-schedule.htm

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/PLAW-105publ203/pdf/PLAW-105publ203.pdf

Honor and Respect, Phil “Pompey” Fixico, Seminole Maroon Descendant ,Private-Sector-Partner for the National Underground Railroad/Network to Freedom 1998 Act and President of the Semiroon Historical Society.

P.S. Thank you, Professor William L. Katz, Author of :”BLACK INDIANS”; A HIDDEN HERITAGE, who called in to support both Carl and Diane but was unable to get on as the segment came to an end.

 

