“OPERATION SURINAME: MAROON DAY” CALLS FOR NEW HARLEM RENAISSANCE

by refixico

“OPERATION SURINAME:MAROON DAY” CALLS FOR NEW HARLEM RENAISSANCE

by refixico

IMG_0415https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Breadbasket

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rainbow/PUSH

“OPERATION SURINAME: MAROON DAY” Took place over the course of 2015. I must give credit to “Operation Breadbasket” and “Operation PUSH” as namesake predecessors that used the word “Operation” to describe organized social actions within a National Movement. “OPERATION SURINAME: MAROON DAY 2015” has an International paradigm as it is intended to create a Cultural Alliance between the peoples of the Western Hemisphere that are connected , not by Blood but by a Shared History. They are Descendants of Refugees of the Diaspora created by the Trans-Atlantic-Slave Trade and Manifest Destiny.

My goal is to use “OSMD” as an example of a reason for International Alliances for the purpose of calling for action, just as “Operation Breadbasket” called for a local action to improve economic conditions . I want “OSMD” to call for a Cultural Renaissance similar to the Harlem Renaissance except instead of using the “New Negro” as the Protagonist, we use Humanities to re-tell Western Hemisphere History through the lives of Indigenous Homeland Security Defenders and Maroon Freedom Fighters.

My ultimate dream is that , one day after “Full Disclosure and Reconciliation” that the descendants of the Oppressed and the Oppressors can then come together to form an All-Inclusive Amerian Culture dedicated to Freedom , Justice and Equality.

As a team member, I look back on the the days that led up to identifying the mission, beginning in late 2014. It was a logical decision based on the required objectives that needed to  be achieved. Her Excellency Dr. Ambassador Fidelia Grand-Galon’s name looms large, because it was she who said, to me “Come to Suriname for Maroon Day”, which is celebrated on October 10th,  2015. Her generous invitation gave me pause as I pondered it. What did I have to offer the 120,000 Maroons, in a country of approximately 520,000 people living in the Republic of  Suriname. It is known as one of the most diverse countries in South America, whose population contains Hindustani, Maroons, Creole, Chinese , Javanese and Europeans. Diversity is the rule rather than the exception. The 2015 National Celebration of Maroon Day recognizes the 255th Anniversary celebration of the “Peace Treaty” that was signed in 1760 by the Dutch Colonizers in favor of the Maroons, who won their Freedom from the Dutch oppressors by Direct Combat they also won the land that they then resided on. This land is where I visited their Descendants on and they still reside there today.

The Descendants of those victorious “Freedom Fighters” were the proud Descendants who I was scheduled to meet, greet and impress.  The logistics of such an undertaking was indeed a daunting notion, consider the various modes of transportation, including:Airlines, small airplane Charter Flights , rented vehicles, Maroon outboard canoes, Pilots, Drivers , Canoe men, Taxis and Guides. The pre-promotion phase for me as a principle , was enormous, I would wake up everyday and ask myself ,what is the highest effort that I can make for “OSMD”. The usual answer was “Spread the Word” ( with no money) , therefore much of my life during this time was devoted to writing about it in Blogs and articles. Speaking about it at events, meetings, on the phone (constantly) and on radio. I constantly sought to acquire official recognition. I faced an ocean of LEARNING CURVES in the community. However, it was my duty to reach those who had no prior knowledge of the Mighty Maroons, the Freedom Fighters of the Western Hemisphere Trans Atlantic Slave era. I did my best…

Deep in the Rain forest I visited Proud Maroon People in their living areas , in 10 different villages, on two major rivers both the Tapanahony/Ndyuka and the Cottica River. The villages visited were :   1. Diitabiki 2. Dataa Konde 3. Sanbedum 4. Loabi  5.Pikinpiisii and Kisai (all on the Tapanahony River) 6. Wanhatti 7. Agitii-ondo 8. Lantiwei 9. Pikisant 10. Langa-uku ( these villages were all on the Cottica River)  In addition to , being allowed to enter the villages I was allowed to see  Maroon War Sites and other Secret Sacred places that must not be spoken about.

I was accompanied by a Full Ambassador Extraodinary Plenipotentiary, Dr. Fidelia Graand-Galon an Okanisi/Ndyuka Maroon of Royal parentage who was completely responsible for all Diplomatic Protocol and she was the main Interpreter. With us in the Rain Forest came Dr. Cynthia Alendy (who assisted with these chores)  she is the current President of the Maroon Women Chamber of Cooperation, this  group consists of Maroon Leadership from , Suriname, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago. Two other International known and respected Members are Dr. Merina Eduards and  Gaaman Gloria “Mama G” Simms, who is the Paramount Chief of the Jamaican Maroons and currently can be seen starring in the film, “Nanny”, which was being screened by the United Nations in New York ,creating a schedule conflict which is why Gaaman “Mama G” could not accompany us into the Rain Forest Maroon villages.

The results of the vetting process that was done on me as a possible North American Maroon Representative had to be submitted to all of these members of the MWCoC Leadership and all had to agree to my being designated. What that meant to me personally was that, I had to strive everyday to reach a personal best, as a 68 year old senior with Medical, Financial and Social issues to represent as the living embodiment , the truth about my Ancestors as told by the Smithsonian Institution’s book and exhibit: “indiVisible”: African-Native American Lives in the Americas, Dr. Kevin Mulroy’s books and essays, “Black Indian”, A Hidden Heritage by Author William L. Katz , The National Underground Railroad/Network to Freedom 1998 Act, the Buffalo Soldier Legacy, First Indian Home Guard, First Kansas Colored Infantry, the Seminole Indians and yes the Maroons who were with the Seminoles. Not only did I have to be an exemplary example of the History, I had to connect with my Cultural Cousins in the Diaspora. that’s why for me, it was “Operation Suriname: Maroon Day”

“Through Warm Tears of Gratitude” Da Pompey , Phil “Pompey Bruner” Fixico, North American Maroon Representative/National Suriname Maroon Day 2015 P.S. Another crucially important Team member was Mr. Jeremy Peretz, UCLA PH.D Grad School Student. He photographed, videoed and took critical notes on “OSMD”, my camera got wet.

