NORTH AND SOUTH AMERICAN MAROON “PEACE MISSION” CONNECTS “CULTURAL COUSINS”

by refixico

Hooray and Hallelujah !!! At last, after 17 years of Research and Activism, after one year of preparation, a 4500 mile airline flight and a ride on an 8 seat charter airline Flight DEEP into the Rain Forest Jungle…I finally connect with my “Cultural Cousins”. The Okanisi/Ndyuka Maroons of the Republic of Suriname. Why are we “Cultural Cousins” ? Because both of our Ancestors were enslaved by the Trans Atlantic Slave or displaced by Manifest Destiny and both of our Ancestors became “Successful Freedom Fighters”. They escaped Slavery/Oppression formed alliances, then they “TURNED AND FOUGHT THEIR OPPRESSORS AND WON THEIR FREEDOM”. Why was this a “PEACE Mission” because in both cases their Freedom was recognized by a “PEACE TREATY” , that said if the Okanisi/Ndyuka Maroons of Suriname and the Black Seminole Maroons of Florida stopped fighting they could proceed to their respective and designated areas ( Suriname Rain Forest and U.S. Indian Territory ) and Freely remain there).

It was a tremendous feeling of elation to discuss the significance of my being the North American Maroon Representative. I’ve been explaining what a Maroon is to Americans for years, it was quite interesting to realize that I also had to explain the connection to the people of Suriname also.  It was very exciting to be interviewed on Radio Koyeba the only Maroon owned Radio station in Suriname. It is owned and operated by Mr. Paul  Abena.  I was interviewed by Kinte Abena the son of Mr. Paul Abena, who was named Kinte in honor of the Kinte Kunta character from “ROOTS”. The hour interview was filmed in the studio, and I learned when it was almost over that it was being transmitted to the whole Caribbean Area. I found out because, calls began coming into the station come different Caribbean areas like Trinidad and etc.. My words were interpreted by Mr. Jabini member of the Royal Fiiman Paansu and by my host Her Excellency Dr. Ambassador Sa Fidelia Graand-Galon.

While I was there in the republic of Suriname the International press picked up on my visit and published stories from places like  France, the Netherlands, French Guiana, and more. Plus, my Blogs on the topic have been viewed in 30 different countries.  When my host Her Excellency Dr. Ambassaor Sa Fidelia Graand-Galon ( who has Rock Star Popularity) and I went about Paramaribo , I noticed that many Maroons on the street knew about my visit and everyone was very friendly and respectful. I recently was informed that the Legendary Surimanese Journalist  Mr. Thomas Polime who is based in The Netherlands intends to do a story about me as a North American Maroon. In the photo above, In on photo I am standing inside the Royal Assembly House reading the words from the “Descendants Creed” that I wrote. I’m with the Gaaman in the Okanisi/Ndyuka Village of Diitabiki, on the Tapanahony River.

in the Rain Forest of Suriname On Oct. 10th, 2015 National Maroon Day the Kabiten (mayors) and Basiya (council persons) also all received the Semiroon Historical Society’s Certificates of Achievement which includes the “Descendants Creed” . Over the years I have presented thousands of these certificates to worthy recipients at my own expense. That night, I performed the Semiroon Peace Belt Ceremony and the entire village took part. The activities consisted of Music, Dancing and Games along with the ceremony, Her Excellency Dr. Ambassador Sa Fidelia Graand Galon (MWCoC Past President acted as Interpreter,Diplomatic Protocol Officer and she helped me by interpreting the Semiroon Peace Belt Ceremony with the presentation of the gifts (Belts ,necklace , chokers and keychains) .During the one year preparation for the trip I ritually made 300 of these gifts and they were presented with the ceremony and the text of the ceremony. I performed this Ceremony in, St. Augustine, Fl., Wash. DC at the Smithsonian Institutions National Museum of the American Indian, in St. Croix, USVI,  Texas, the Republic of Suriname, Los Angeles County Black Resource Center countless other California locations.

In one photo  the (seated) Kondemasa Gaaman Da Bono Velantie Paramount Chief of the Okanisi/Ndyuka Maroons   is wearing the Semiroon Peace Belt that I made for him (a chief’s version) . there are only two in the world, the one I wear around my neck for Ceremonial purposes and the one that i made and presented to The Gaaman Kondemasa. The Seminole Maroon Peace Belt that I wear represents the 1837 “Peace” Treaty of Articles of Capitulation interpreted, negotiated with the U.S. Government which was signed by my Ancestors. The Semiroon Peace Belt that i presented to The Gaaman represents the Oct. 10th, 1760 Peace Treaty which was signed by the Okanisi/Ndyuka Maroon’s Ancestors. This is why I call it a peace mission because it celebrated the “Peace” that set both people Free. “Through Warm Tears of Gratitude” Phil “Da Pompey Bruner” Fixico, Seminole Maroon Descendant and North American Maroon Representative

12112256_10153326858504107_799049059009651152_n 12096109_10153326862164107_8172077265184477100_n