DR. AMBASSADOR FIDELIA GRAAND-GALON: “OPERATION SURINAME’S MAROON DAY” MASTERMIND

by refixico

12144791_10153326870394107_6954793883020931189_n12112256_10201053547856139_8876839077152284188_n

Her Excellency Dr. Ambassador Fidelia Graand-Galon, was the MASTERMIND AND THE DRIVING FORCE, behind “Operation Suriname”. With the help and the support of the Maroon Women Chamber of Cooperation’s, current President Dr. Cynthia Alendy, this complex and expensive massive Cultural Exchange “Peace Mission” was a groundbreaking success. The first photo of me, was taken at the Rain forest landing strip in Diitabiki, Suriname near the Tapanahony River, on Oct. 10th 2015. The 3 shot photo below , was taken in Paramaribo, Suriname. It includes Phil Fixico, North American Maroon Representative (Lt), Dr. Ambassador Fidelia Graand-Galon (Middle) and Jeremy Jacob Peretz (Rt), the UCLA PH.D.Grad Student also chosen by Dr. Ambassador Graand-Galon would become an integral part of our team in many ways.We are holding a copy of Wm. Katz’s enduring classic “Black Indians”. In Mr. Katz’s latest edition he added my name to the dedication. Photography credits go to Jeremy Mophead Peretz Her Excellency Dr. Ambassador Graand-Galon and I met on Facebook, I was an aging, struggling local African-Native American Activist whose non-existent career was floundering. She said, “I want you to come to Suriname for National Maroon Day”. I had daunting health and financial challenges, that were facing me, however it was more reason why I needed to do anything, not to miss what could be a Last Hurrah for me, a Maroon “Don Quixote” down to my last Windmill. Thank you, m’pikin sisa MAFIDE for believing in me !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
“Through Warm Tears of Gratitude” Da Pompey, Phil Fixico, Private-Sector-Partner for the National Underground Railroad/Network to Freedom 1998 Act and North American Maroon Representative to Suriname’s 2015 National Maroon Day Celebration.

