Smithsonian Institutions “indiVisible” and Fixico

by refixico

Smithsonian #1 001Smithsonian #1 005

THE SMITHSONIAN INSTITUTIONS , BOOK AND EXHIBIT,ENTITLED : “indiVisible”: African-Native American Lives in the Americas. This is the groundbreaking book and exhibit that made many unrealized dreams come true and healed numerous wounds of enforced invisibility. The Smithsonian Institution, the National Museum of American Indians and in cooperation with the yet to be opened National Museum of African American History with Internationally recognized Scholars and researchers all worked together to complete a true Masterpiece of Historic and Cultural significance. For me I personally became , someone who through a miracle of God and the Ancestors blessings became a featured subject among 27 other stories. It was like being born forth into the world after, being entombed in a womb of secrets, lies and half truths for 62 years. I thank everyone involved with freeing us and sending forth our stories. A few names that must be mentioned are , Penny Gamble-Williams Spiritual Leader and Activist and her Husband “Thunder” Williams, they were two important Visionaries for the”indiVisible” ,book and exhibit. The next, name that comes to my mind is Dr. Gabbrielle Tayac ,a Piscataway Indian who was the Curator and General Editor for the book and exihibit. I’ll never forget Dr. Tayac’s sensitivity and humble kindness. When I met her at the National Museum of the American Indian on the Mall in Wash. DC. She took me to every floor of the museum to introduce me to all of the people who had been working on “indiVisible”. I was touched that they all seem to know me. The “indiVisible” exhibit was a traveling show under the Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibit Services and therefore, it toured the USA for 5 years. The other name that I must mention is of course my Smithsonian Institution Researcher, Dr. Kevin Mulroy, the World’s Leading Authority on Seminole Maroons. Dr. Mulroy is currently the Dean of Library Sciences for the Claremont Colleges 7 Library locations. I owe more than I can ever express here, to both Dr. Mulroy and his lovely wife Dr. Sara Mulroy. When Darlene Donloe wrote an article about me, that was entitled : Phil Wilkes Fixico: A True Native Son, Ms. Donloe, A L.A.WattsTimes Contributing Writer, who had been a publicist for Mr.Nelson Mandel upon his release from prison was given my story as an assignment. Ms. Donloe, reports that when she asked Dr. Tayac the “indiVisible” editor and Curator , “Why was Fixico chosen for “indiVisible”? It was reported that Dr. Tayac replied, “Because through his genealogy, we can tell the story of the Seminole People”. Darlene Donloe’s article entitled: Phil Wilkes Fixico: A True Native Son , won the prestigious 2011 Inter-Ethnic Relations Award for Journalism ( her article was chosen out of 3,000 ethnic newspapers) Without the Smithsonian Institution’s ;”indiVisble” African-Native American Lives, my story and others like me would still be locked in stone. ‘Through Warm Tears of Gratitude” Phil “Pompey Bruner” Fixico, Seminole Maroon Descendant and North American Maroon Representative to Suriname’s 2015 National Maroon Day.

